These Women Deserve to See Justice Served

Screen Shot 2015-09-18 at 8.58.37 AM

Here’s a story so dear to me.

For more than half a century, up to 200,000 women have been haunted by the lives they were forced to live as “comfort women”.

To comfort whom? Why? How?

Accurately put – they were sex slaves to “serve” the Imperial Japanese Army during the Second World War.

Do not let them die of old age with open wounds. Voice up for them so that they get “comforted” with a sincere apology from the Japanese Government.

I know I’m just one of many voices urging for justice in the midst of inequality, but as these voices assemble, I believe that they have the power to inspire a global movement demanding that crimes of sexual violence be redressed.

Many of these women did not see justice served in their lifetime, and I’m aware that those still living may also not live to see the day. But to me, the women have achieved something that is monumental by continuing to challenge the Japanese government, even in the face of lies and denial.

“I couldn’t get pregnant, I couldn’t even think about having a baby, I got diseases which impacted my ability to have children...,” Lee Ok-sun, 89. Copyright Paula Allen.
“I couldn’t get pregnant, I couldn’t even think about having a baby, I got diseases which impacted my ability to have children…,” Lee Ok-sun, 89. Copyright Paula Allen.
“Five men a night raped me, the soldiers alternated, so there were different men each night … If I refused they’d slap and hit me.” Lola Pilar, 79 (in 2005). Copyright Paula Allen
“Five men a night raped me, the soldiers alternated, so there were different men each night … If I refused they’d slap and hit me.” Lola Pilar, 79 (in 2005). Copyright Paula Allen
Leave a Reply

